IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - OVERPOPULATION - PROBLEM & SOLUTION

Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individual should tackle these problems.

Generally, city appears to be an appealing place to live. Of course, higher income, better education, a more vibrant life than rural areas become an irresistible attraction to entice numerous new residents. This is blamed for an enormous rate of overpopulation. The rapid growth of population in city badly afflicts its environment. There is an urgent need to solve this problem through reducing pollution and garbage disposal.

Overcrowding in urban area leads to an increasing number of vehicles for commuting which is accused of causing a vast amount of exhaust fume in the air. Consequently, citizens become vulnerable to long-term health problem, especially causing bronchitis and diminishing lung functions. Also, the tiny bit of soot results in dirty cityscape and increasing average temperature in city. Furthermore, food waste issue stems from overpopulation. Specifically, food waste which accounts for major daily domestic waste emits a toxic greenhouse gas, called methane. Seriously, this harmful emission has a negative impact on climate change and causes death.

In order to address the above issues, the government should encourage city residents to commute by public transport. To fulfil this desire, however, the public transportation system has to be modern and comprehensive. Additionally, public transport will use electricity from clean sources such as hydropower, solar energy and wind power which will not generate emission. Other solution for this is covering city with more vegetation and trees to provide shades, purify their air by trapping carbon and other pollutant and enhance citizen's quality of life. Furthermore, encouraging individual composting food waste at home would be a far more successful approach to protect our environment as well as to reduce the authorities' pressure on waste disposal.

In sum, overpopulation brings serious problem to our life. However, there are available solutions to improve the situation and look forward for a sustainable life.