parents were busier in the past - nowadays more of them are involved in their children's education

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

In today's world, education plays an important role in everyone's life. Therefore, people tend to pay attention to it more than the past. As far as I am concerned, there are two different ideas about this question. Some people think that parents are behaving similar to the past. While others believe otherwise. I subscribe to the latter one, and there are several reasons to name. Three of which-that is-business of people in the past, existence of distracting, and factors the importance of education nowadays, are the most conspicuous ones.

The most important point of my advocating this point of view is that the parents were busier in the past in comparison to nowadays. In the past, cities were not developed much, and a lot of people lived in rural regions. Because of technological lacking, families were self-produced. This means that they forced to work so hard to provide family's food resources in addition to earn money by selling their products. Consequently, they were so busy which prevented them to involve much in their children's education. On the other hand, developed cities provide a situation by which parents are working in certain hours every day, and they are at home rest of it. Therefore, they have enough time to participate in their children's education process and try to lead them in the best manner.

The second reason that comes to mind is that there are a lot of distracting factors which can push the children in a wrong way. Video games, the Internet, and to name but two; which are so exciting for the children, are trying to attract them. Therefore, children tend to spend huge amount of their time for this kind of activities. They are not mature enough to handle this confusing situation successfully. So, parents can play a critical role to prevent children from distraction because it will cause bad effects on their education. My cousin who was so attracted by video games and wanted to play it all a day. So, he did not assign enough time to his studying, and failed to pass his mathematics course.

Last but not least, education is so important in today's world. Technological advancements provide a situation by which everyone should have a basic information about the technology, and it is completely related to education. Someone who is not knowledgeable enough will face a lot of problems which categorize him or her as a low level person in a society. In example, statistics show that workers and employees should have at least have a certain diploma to be accepted by a company. Therefore, parents want to persuade their children to focus on their education because having an educational background will influence their future.

To sum up what I've outlined above, parents have more free time now, technological development of a society demands more educated people, and factors which were brought by this technological developments, force parents to involve more in their children educating process.