IELTS:should both parents go to work or not?

In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence. What is your opinion?

In the past, the man was responsible for taking care of his family's financial situation. In other words, the man went out to work, while his wife stayed home and looked after her children and did the household duties. However, many things have changes since then, because more and more parents decide to leave their children home alone in order to work. I believe that the desire to earn more money has more drawbacks than benefits.76

First of all, children need to be supervised all the time. At that age, a child does not have the ability to distinguish whether a thing is 'good' or 'bad'- if he saw a dog, he would go and hug it, not thinking that it may harm him. Many tragic home-alone kids' accidents appear on the TV news, some of them ending with the little creature's death. For example, in 2009 a girl aged five was waiting for her parents to get back home from work when she saw a box of matches. She took the box and started playing with it, but she accidentally lit a fire. The whole house burnt completely, but it remains a mystery how the girl managed to escape.133

Another argument in favor of not leaving children home alone is the love they need. Even if they benefit from additional income, at that age they do not know what money is, they need love and care, more than a Nintendo or computer games. The first five years are extremely important for one's life, as he develops his social behaviour. If he does not interact with other human beings, he learns that silence is better than communication and being alone is more important than socializing. Because of the fact that both parents go to work, children start spending their time playing video games and they continue doing that even after their parents' return.112

To conclude, children cannot buy parents' absence with the extra money that is earned. I believe that parents should think first about their kids and how they could spend more time with them, not about money. 36