Essay IELTS Writing Part 2 about the provision of free-of-charge education of governments

Rubric: Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter waht financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, tuition fees have been inexorably escalating, the affordability of higher education has always been a topic of interest. It could be argued that the regulatory authorities should abolish tuition fees so that all students could be entitled to attend tertiary education with a notion that their socio-economic background would not be an issue. Meanwhile this recommendation seems to be valid in a certain extent, I am somewhat convinced that waiving tuition fees could have an adverse bearing on both students and society.

On the one hand, my advocate for why the government should offer students a free-college policy could be attributed to plenty of compelling reasons. On the idividual level, a host of students are able to take advantage of the excellent quality of higher education. This renders those who are bachelor's degree holders, especially the underprivileged to stand a chance of landing higher-paid careers as well as bettering living quality. On the societal level, the provision of a free-of-charge education is expected to imply a more educated workforce, which would give rise to the world to evolve into being more and more civilized as well as thriving.

On the other hand, tuition waivers at the expense of beneficiaries as well. The labour market is more inclined to become drastically competitive. As a result, if there are multitudenous university graduates, the acquisition of a tertiary degree would not appear to give them multiple forms of employment. In addition to this, pursuing college without fees appears to be more detrimental to the growth and the expansion of society. The enormous cost incurred to cover the higher education tuition is going to pose a massive risk to government coffers, leading to an immense drain due to budget deficits, tax hikes or even worse, diminished welfare.

In conclusion, the provision of a free-of-charge education does not turn out to be a bad idea. Nevertheless, I would contend that governments should not make it free for everyone.