IELTS2 In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

SHOPPING AS A HOBBY

In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extend do you think this is a positive trend?

A geneaction ago shopping was considered a chore that needed to be accomplished. A lot of people today instead, think of it as their hobby. It is no longer a boring duty, while instead it has become a leisure activity, often replacing others that are in some way healthier. This trend in my opinion is not really positive, since it carries a few negative outcomes.

The young generation mostly considers it as a great activity to do during the weekends with their friends. Due to the huge spread of shopping malls, this activity once considered tiresome and monotonous, has now become really convenient. There is, moreover no need to drive to different stores to buy a list of simple products. In these places, people can indeed find every item on the planet. Young people hence, would rather spend their free time in such places than doing activities out in th open. Shopping has furthermore become a chance for families to spend some quality time together. Since both parents' and children's lives are getting busier and busier, a lot of families have decided to spend their weekends in shopping centres.

This trend however, may be dangerous for young people. The modern society is already a consumer one; consequently, if young people start buying in a compulsive manner, the consequences might hence be enormous.

Once a duty, shopping has become a hobby. This new leaning to summarise, has spread not only between the generation of teenagers but also between families. Sinche these places have mushroomed in every city, young people have replaced activities such as sports with shopping. The latter, in my opinion should be an activity to do only occasionally, since there is nothing healthier than taking a walk under the sunlight while breathing fresh air than listening to the sound of a crowded shopping mall.