Some people argue that intellectuality is given and cannot be changed

Task 2: : Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that it can be improved

Some people argued that intellectuality is given and cannot be changed while others think that it can be developed through a number of learning and training. I would argue that intelligence, especially in children below 18 years-old can be improved through an extensive training and strong willingness.

Those who support the concept of given intellectual believe that the brainpower is inherited from the DNA of the parents thus it cannot be changed. This idea is also endorsed by Howard Gardner, a professor in John H. And Elisabeth A. who studied Cognition and Education. He stated that a person has 8 different multiple intelligences and they naturally have mastered in one or two of them but not in all of the type. He or she can be trained to be good at another skill but never exceed the given talent. As a result, intelligence for each person is different but it will never exceed the given one.

However, I do not believe this argument is the undeniable one. Intelligence is related to the brain function. It belongs to the most dynamic and developable part of the body system. According to Stephen Ceci, professor of developmental psychology at Cornell University and her colleagues reveals that adolescences who were 12 to 16 years-old experienced fluctuations in their Intelligence Quotient (IQ) rate about 20 points. They also tracked the result nicely with structural and functional brain imaging. Therefore, brain development is unavoidable and can increase by the time and training.

To sum up, although some people believe that intelligent mid is a fixed potency, there are a lot of case in which intelligent mind can be increased. We cannot deny that everyone can get a high potency in everything through a number of extensive learning and strong willingness.