IELTS Writing task 2: More and more people are becoming seriously overweight.

More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that increasing fast food prices is the best solution when obesity is getting more and more serious. I strongly think that only this method cannot make a big difference, and there are other more effective measures that the government can take to tackle this issue.

Having to pay more expensive prices for junk food might not strong enough to stop people from consuming it. Consumers might complain or even temporarily give up on burgers and french fries, however, this may not last for long since people often cannot resist their carving. My sister, for example, often complains how overpriced bubble tea is. That said, she is willing to pay 100,000 VND just to satisfy her thirst for this beverage. Therefore, this policy alone might not be as effective as expected in the long run.

There are several potential solutions that the country authorities can take into consideration. Firstly, raising public's awareness of processed food's detrimental impacts on the body. Knowing that they have a high chance of getting serious health problems such as heart diseases, and diabetes, people might be discouraged to over-eat these kinds of food. Additionally, reducing the standards of working and studying hours might also be helpful. If students and working adults had to commit less time at workplaces or schools, they would have more time to prepare homecooked meals. As a result, the consumption of junk food might eventually drop and residents would become healthier over time.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that exorbitant prices cannot stop consumers from eating fast food, however, proper education and new working hour policies can have an impact on people's lifestyles and diets. (277)