Some people believe that the salary plays the most vital role when opting for a job

When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. Do you agree or disagree?

Decisions on opting for a job are affected by several factors among which some people believe that the salary plays the most vital role. While I agree that the earnings are necessary, I have to support the idea that there are more to deciding on a career than money.

On the one hand, it is essential for people to have a certain amount of money, which could help cover their basic needs. For example, we all need money to pay for our bills, staples, education, healthcare, housing; if therefore, a job could not ensure our minimum income, we would soon feel unmotivated to continue. In addition to that, if people choose a job based on non-financial factors, such as passion, interest, they will have no means to support themselves. Artists, for instance, who follow career paths that they are passionate about, hardly lead a life of comfort or raise their families.

On the other hand, when deciding on a job, several factors are equally or even more important than the economic facet. Firstly, relationships and working environment are worth considering since coordinating with supportive managers, and amiable colleagues will result in employees' high levels of happiness and performance. Secondly, many people derive their sense of satisfaction from professional accomplishments, such as a set of skills and knowledge they learn, or the position they reach. Once they are sent to a higher post, their income without too much intention will be multiplied. Eventually, some people choose an occupation that helps others living in less privileged condition or contribute to society.

In conclusion, even though money affects a person's decision on a job, I do not believe it is not the most vital factor.