IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is...

REQUIREMENT: Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste ?

___________________

There is an opinion that domestic waste is not recycled enough so a large amount of it still exists without being sorted out. I believe that not only the national law forces the residents to increase recycling, but also other methods could be tackling the problem.

On the one hand, having a legal system would make recycling become a compulsory activity. Take, for example, when the residents travel on the road, they have to follow the traffic light signals or spend a large amount of money on being fined for their illegal behavior. Of course, no one wants to pay for this and that is why almost travelers tend to follow the law. Similarly, making recycling obligated is important as it could increase the amount of trash recycled and there is no doubt among people about what they have to do with their domestic rubbish.

However, while regional law plays a vital role in orienting residents, propaganda would be a measure which should be taken into consider. An environmental campaign would raise the public awareness, to tell them about pollution, illegal dumping of global warming. People who understand what they are facing would take action, especially decreasing their waste by recycling more. Granted, some might argue that using this method is not feasible as people can choose to follow it or not. Nevertheless, this line of reasoning is not sound because if this activity receives good results, like an environmentally friendly space or a clean reiver that benefits inhabitants, more people will follow it.

In conclusion, although legal policy of a country could make the inhabitants recycle trash more, measures such as public propaganda and better welfare for recycling company should be thought over in order to help the environment.