People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are some solutions

overconsumption of sugar products

Even though the consumption of too many sugar-based drinks causes many problems such as obesity and diabetes, people indulge in those sweet products more and more. There are several reasons for this and some solutions.

Three main reasons entice people to consume a lot of sugary drinks. First, research studies show that most children and people over 50 years old love sweet foods and drinks. In fact, 9 out of 10 children said that they usually drink coke or sugary milk every day. Second, colorful advertising featuring celebrities drives sales of sugar products thereby playing a crucial role in luring consumers to try those drinks. On average people spend nearly 3-4 hours per day watching TV and surfing the internet which exposes them to a large number of advertisements and makes them not only desire a sweet taste but also believe it is healthy. Third, in some people that become afflicted by sugar addiction, doctors believe they can't help but consume sugary foods and drinks whenever they see them.

Clearly this is a sad state of affairs. Luckily, society has a few ways to fight back. The government definitely can raise the taxes of sugar products and companies that produce them thereby forcing those companies to increase their prices. Those increases will cause consumers to purchase less of those products. Schools should also become more involved through direct instruction in classrooms, advertising campaigns, and physical fitness programs. By raising awareness of the problems of sugar consumption at a young age, society combats the problem earlier reducing the likelihood it will grow as large later.

In conclusion, although several societal forces conspire to tempt people to consume sugar products, steps can be taken to ameliorate the problem.