People cannot eliminate the habit of smoking

benefits and difficulties of smoking cessation

The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit.

What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely known that smoking has a negative impact on health, but for some reasons, people fail to get rid of this bad habit. Trying to be cool and loosening control of cigarette purchases are identified as the major reasons. Therefore, imposing taxes and money punishment in public places from government are introduced to address the issue.

To start with, a majority of people smoke to impress others. This act can readily be found in teenagers these days, as they are usually influenced by other bad-influential peers. As a result, those naughty adolescents will begin getting access to cancer sticks from strangers to make themselves more awesome. Another reason is that tobacco prices are still affordable, compared to people's income. Therefore, they can still obtain cigarettes with a very low-cost amount of money.

Governments should implement a long-term comprehensive legislation in order to combat against smoking. Raising taxes in cigarettes businesses is the first introduced suggestion because the cost of purchasing a cancer stick will be astronomical, so people are less likely to get it. The second solution is money penalization when catching an individual smoking in public. This method has been available in Singapore for many years, and it works effectively on the ground of its citizens' fear of being caught smoking. All in all, it is up to the local authorities to mitigate the issue of smoking.

In conclusion, there are two causes of people continuing to smoke, which are coolness and the facilitation of getting a cigarette product. Implementing high taxes and money fining are unveiled to tackle the problem.