Nowadays, most people would purchase ready-made food than cook at home.

Convenience food pros and cons

These days, most of the people have grown up on a diet of convenience food particularly in ready-made food instead of cooking at home. They claimed that they don't have enough time to cook meals at home as they are struggling with their education purposes or business matters. However, these ready-made food might lead to be harmful to our health. In this essay, I will discuss why the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

To begin with, one of the main disadvantages of purchasing ready-made food is that it can cause various diseases and health problems. The more pre-prepared meals you eat, the more likely to suffer diseases such as obesity, diabetes and heart diseases. Most of them often contain too much salt, sugar and fat. Moreover, it might lead to get serious diseases even cancer as they are treated with some chemicals in order to be long-lasting.

Furthermore, the most important thing is that no one can know how these food are produced. Sometimes, they are manufactured in some industries which are in unhygienic condition or environment. Some of the companies just follow the trends of profit rather than providing better food quality. They might use some dangerous chemicals or things to get better taste or smell. That's why it is impossible to believe these meals' qualities comparing to the cooked meals at home.

However, there are also some advantages of buying ready-made food. They are so cheap to buy and easy to be available. It also saves time, money and energy as we don't need to put an effort to cook meals.

In conclusion, it is clear that food plays an important role in everyone's life. Diet is relatively linked with human's health. In my opinion, eating ready-made food make us get serious health problems and chronic diseases even though they provide some positive sides. That's why disadvantages outweigh any advantages.