Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use

Task:

Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use. Others, however, think it is cruel and unnecessary.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The public has different views about whether animal testing for medical research is vital or not. Despite the limitations, animal experimentation, in my opinion, serves an important function in the medical business.

It is believed that the idea of using animals for medical experiments is morally wrong. They argue that animals have the right to live free from unnecessary harm and exploitation. Animals have intrinsic worth and deserve to be treated with respect and compassion. Using animals for experiments, especially when alternative methods are available, is seen as a violation of their rights and dignity. In comparison to animal research, 3D cell cultures, for example, give a more human-relevant model. (8) Researchers may examine human-specific reactions and gain a better understanding of human physiology by employing human cells.

Despite the above-mentioned ideas, I am a proponent of the use of animals in medical trials due to the safety testing proposed. Animals, especially mammals, share physiological and genetic similarities with humans. This biological overlap allows researchers to study the effects of substances on animals to gain insights into their potential effects on human beings. Furthermore, if animal testing is conducted, it can reveal unforeseen reactions or side effects that were not predicted from preclinical studies or in vitro experiments. These unexpected responses may arise due to complex interactions within living organisms that are difficult to replicate in alternative models.

In conclusion, although animal testing may be harsh and inhumane, it still needs to be conducted for safety reasons.