Nowadays people are spending more time at their workplace. Why is it? Is it positive or negative?

The workaholism phenomenon

People nowadays become more and more workaholic by spending more time at workplace than at home. This phenomenon can be explained by both subjective and objective reasons. From my point of view, it brings about not only benefits but also several drawbacks to the cooperation s and workers.

First of all, people are hardworking to follow their high passion. It can be said that lots of people choose their dream jobs so that they can utterly devote themselves to their career. For example, a professional designer is definitely willing to focus on their work day by day in order to create a perfect product. Secondly, in a company which is highly competitive, each members are required to work for extra hours. As a result, they can show their attitude and ability to their leaders and have a probability of getting promoted.

From my perspective, it is beneficial to work in long hours. Working overtime is a great way to get chances for moving to higher position and build up financial situation. When working outside of office hours, obviously more tasks can be done. Labour productivity thus increases which contributes significantly to the development of the business.

On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of this trend. Firstly, too much work can result in stress and poor health. Particularly, spending more time on working means to reduce time of resting. Consequently they do not get enough sleep, causing high risk for chronic conditions like diabetes or heart disease. In addition, workaholics may neglect their family and friends. They do not have moments to share daily matters with others or even just hang out and have a cup of coffee. If the situation continues for a long time, life will become uninspiring.

In conclusion, I believe that working for extra hours is a worthy choice but also leads to lots of harmful issues. It is important to achieve a balance between work and leisure activities.