Some people think the extra-curriculum school work and activities shall be decided by students

This is a TOEFL writing topic:

Some people think the extra-curriculum school work and activities shall be decided by students, while others do not think so. What do you think and why?

I agree that students should have right to choose the extra-curriculum school work and activities they want to take, but only partly. For one thing, this decision should within certain choices range that offered by their school. Of course, when making this course pool, schools should take both entertainment and educational functions into account. Then, school should control the time that students spend on their extra-course that preventing them from interfering the main courses.

First of all, it is not feasible to let students to decided whatever they want to learn because the teaching resources and funding that one school could provided for extra-curriculum are limited. For example, if there is only one student interested in taking photography class, in order to fulfill the demand, not only teacher's time, but also equipment have to invest to this course. Imaging hundreds of students that all have different course requirement. I doubt there is any school could afford that amount of cost.

Although labor and financial sources are limited, schools should make efforts to offer as much diversity as possible to help students discover their interested fields and relax them from daily study as well. After course pool has been settled, students may use their free right to choose what they want to take. Considering a student who barely takes exercises, like myself, which sometimes not because I don't like it, but lack the motivation and right guide to do that. If I have this chance to choose exercise courses, like tennis course, as my extra-curriculum activities, it will definitely improve my health condition, and further improve my study efficiency.

Finally, schools should control the maximum time that students spending on their extra-course. Certainly there would be many curriculums that more interesting than main courses, like math or history. But as courses during extra hours, schools should rightly guide students with their priorities by regulating times on extra courses.

In conclusion, students should have the right to choose the course they want to take during extra time. However, this choose should within certain restrains. Schools should take the responsibility of guiding them to the right track.