Some people think that the government have the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet...

Some people think that the government have the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others argue it is the responsibility of each individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

the task of improving people's health

It is true that, in recent years, a healthy diet has been receiving a great deal of media attention around the world, especially in less developed countries, because of its substantial impacts on promoting physical and mental development. While some medical practitioners suggest that government intervention to help its citizens have a balanced diet is essential, l believe that people's responsibility of eating healthily should be a top priority.

There are a variety of grounds why the government holds accountable for maintaining healthy eating habits of its citizens. Firstly, since some imported food such as fruits or meat contain plenty of chemical preservative popularly sold in the market, consumers easily suffer from eating disorders such as food poisoning , even leading to life-threatening conditions. Therefore, national authorities should impose strict regulations on monitoring a wide range of imported food before entering border customs offices. Secondly, in order to provide consumers with a healthier diet, government officials should take steps to develop advances in agricultural technology to produce chemical-free food including meat, fruits, and green vegetables. This not only encourages consumers to purchase domestic food but also improves their citizens' health.

Nevertheless, it is clear that each citizen should be responsible to look after his or her health. Firstly, thanks to social networking sites, especially Facebook, individuals might raise awareness themselves about avoiding food additives. In fact, since a variety of unhealthy foods containing artificial colors and flavors on Facebook such as candies and cakes contribute to causing some health problems such as diabetes and obesity, people might be more reliance on diets rich in vitamins and nutrients instead of continuing consuming these foods. In addition, consumers should spend more time on home -made food rather than processed one. In fact, plenty of evidence suggests that self-cooked food would provide adequate nutrients for cognitive development and raw spinach is a great source of vitamins, contributing to having a balanced diet on the daily basis.

In conclusion, while the government plays an integral part in improving people's health, it seems to me that every citizen should plan on having healthy eating habits to protect his or her health from chronic diseases.