Some people think we should have one job, but others think we should do more than one job.

People have different views on whether we should pursue one job or not.

This essay will look into both sides of the matter before my final conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, doing one job derives numerous merits, the most notable of which is the higher work productivity. Having only one post entitles us to focus more on that job, which considerably contributes to occupation proficiency. Furthermore, doing more than one job means you need excellent time management skills to fulfill all jobs well. To illustrate, when I was an undergraduate, I used to work as a receptionist while having a part-time job at a local restaurant. Lack of efficient management ability made me incapable of balancing my two occupations, which led to an inefficient working performance.

On the other hand, it is justifiable for some to pursue several jobs at the same time, mainly due to the higher income. As some people choose to do their dream job regardless of its low salary, having another job is a must if they want to pay for living expenses as well as satisfy their needs. For instance, many teenagers nowadays are taking advantage of multiple jobs to earn extra income to please their leisure and personal interests. This not only improves their living standard but also boosts their motivation to work harder.

In conclusion, although only one occupation may seem beneficial, having several jobs is worth considering. It is my conviction that we should consider thoroughly in order to find the optimal type of work.