Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities

Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Currently, while numerous students are chosen by countless schools based on their academic capabilities, there is compelling evidence that students who have different abilities should be given the same academic environment.

On the one hand, streaming school environments could bring many benefits for not only the teachers but also the pupils. From the teachers' perspectives, this academic learning model could help teachers design easily a more customized lesson plan for each group of students. Mathematics teachers, for example, could boost the number of Mathematics lessons and concentrate on advanced Mathematics academic fields, such as Theorems of Algebra and Geometry, rather than usual equation-solving or formula-applying exercises. Moreover, it could be easier for teachers in class management, especially students' academic management. From the students' perspective, they can reap a more in-depth understanding of the specialized subjects and feel more comfortable with remaining subjects that are not their strong points. As a result, educators could be motivated to study and show their potential, and the dropout rate could be lower.

On the other hand, comprehensive learning environments could be advantageous for students in a few aspects. Firstly, these environments could allow exploration of the pupils' hidden abilities. This is because through being in contact with people who have numerous distinct fortes, pupils could have a chance to try many domains, including both academic and recreational domains. Therefore, they could find out their favourite ones and become motivated to follow them. For instance, after practising speaking English with an English pupil through English conservations in textbooks, a Mathematics learner could become passionate about studying this subject and searching more about its lessons. Secondly, this model of schools could enhance cooperation between students using their diversity of strengths. To exemplify, English major students could cooperate with Literature educators to dissect the world's literary masterpieces which are written in English, which could be a difficulty if they work alone. Consequently, by working as a group, students could solve many academic problems in their studies.

In conclusion, there are some positive aspects of both these academic system designs, which should be utilized in a few respective circumstances. From my view of point, I believe that comprehensive learning environments should be promoted for students. Therefore, they can choose the right specializations before taking the streaming education based on these specializations.