Nowadays, more and more people want to travel to remote areas such as the South Pole.

Do the advantages of this type of travel outweigh the disadvantages?

(Can you guys check my IELTS band for this essay?)

Recently, there is an increase in the number of people who intend to visit faraway regions such as the South Pole. While this tendency has some obvious disadvantages, I would argue that its beneficial aspects are more considerable.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks associated with this traveling propensity. Firstly, exploring remote locations is a high-risk activity that necessitates good physical condition. Visitors may have to face unanticipated situations, which would adversely influences both their body and long-term mental health. For example, explorers may be attacked by wild animals or bitten by insects, resulting in injury or infection, and they may find it difficult to find medical treatment. Secondly, travelers would have to spend many expenditures such as preparation, hiring tour guides or medicines, which cost them a huge amount of money.

On the other hand, this challenging trip brings many favorable outcomes. This sort of once-in-a-lifetime encounter, in particular, will increase individuals' practical knowledge depending on where they travel. For instance, they would be able to gain survival skills such as first aid and foraging while living in a jungle. Moreover, they will have a chance to immerse themselves in nature and closely observe native ecosystem. Take the South Pole as an illustration, people can witness polar bears' everyday activities and the formation of icebergs there. People who do not participate in this one-of-a-kind experience may be restricted in their knowledge and may struggle to encounter unforeseen scenarios.

In conclusion, while traveling distant places is a negative adventure to some extent, I firmly believe that the positivity of this type of travel exceeds the detrimental aspects due to the crucial knowledge it provides.