IELTS task 2:should physical education be optional in school or not?

Most school offer some type of physical education program to their students. Why it is important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

Physical education programs are offered widely in school systems. Although, there have been a number of given opinion supposed that physical education should be optional. Exercises are undeniably essential, especially at growing ages, thanks to its benefits for both mental and physical health of a student.

A great deal of conducted researches has indicated the major variety of benefits of exercises for one's physical health. Scientists claimed that a regularly active lifestyle would protect us from certain diseases such as diabetes, heart diseases, and the largest concern of western countries: obesity. Additional, physical activities can act as an aid to prevent student from excessive time spent on their electronic devices.

Moreover, exercises are proved to help releasing endorphin, which is a hormone that improves one's mood by reducing stress and anxiety. Therefore, physical education will stimulate a happy and healthy lifestyle of a student. In addition, research showed that student who involved in physical activities consistently tend to sleep well at night and, as a result, perform better in school.

Unfortunately, there are several inevitable circumstances in which a student has a difficult physical condition, e.g. handicapped or asthmatic, that prevent them from engaging such physical activities. In that case, school should give them some sort of special permission like allowing them to absent in physical education periods. This solution might be a better option comparing to make the subject optional, which would encourage lazy students not to participate.

In conclusion, physical education should not be optional since it is physically and mentally beneficial for a student. Nevertheless, in some unavoidable special cases, students can be permitted to abstain from exhausting activities.