The preference of people on E-Books and Paper Books

More and more people prefer to read eBooks rather than paper books. What are the reason for this? What problem can this cause for libraries?

Different ways to read

It goes without saying that the improvement of technology has influenced on people live. Thus, it also relating to the recent condition that preference of people to read electronic books has been raising by the time. This then reducing the number of reader on using printed books. Based on the flexibility reason, I tend to support this notion. However, the lack of visitors can affect on libraries.

People tend to search the more accessible way to fulfill their necessity. Likewise on the way people getting an information through reading nowadays. E-books as a new sort of reading information is very flexible in use because people can use it in every condition, everywhere, and everytime as long as the devices to suppot it still avalaible. Thereby, people do not need to bring the printed book in their bag to search information they need.

However, the most obvious problem appears to this condition is the lack of libraries visitors. This gap is inevitable on almost libraries. The recent research in 2017 shows that the number of visitor in big five libraries in Malaysia reckons a significant decrease by 40 %, this is because readers tend to read ebooks rather than spend their time in library. Moreover, this decreasing number of visitors affecting to the reducing number of books lent by them.

All in all, E-books offers the flexibility for readers. That is why people tend to search information on this form frequently rather than paper books. Nevertheless, this condition has affected om the reducing number of libraries visitors.