IELTS GT Writing Task 2: Problems the country face in next ten years

Hi all,

This is my 2nd essay.... it seems a tough topic as I am not a political person, but I have tried my best....please help comment, thanks in advance!!

What problems will your country face in the next ten years? How can these problems be overcome?

Recently many local people dispute whether the government should tighten the policy to control the traffic of mainlanders to Hong Kong. Their visits not only make Hong Kong become crowded, but also create some long-term impacts to locals.

One of key concerns is that mainlanders have huge demand on local products. Their huge consumption on local goods leads to local people face product and food shortage. For instance, some media reported that many mainlanders came Hong Kong to buy milk powders, and local parents found it was difficult to buy milk powders for their babies. Their needs are not only on daily household good or food, but also on housing. Due to inflation of their currency, most of the mainlanders think it are comparatively cheap to buy houses in Hong Kong. It further boost up the price of house in Hong Kong and make locals even more dificult to buy their own houses.

The competition of resources in another issue that arouse public concern. Recently it is common to see that local pregnants cannot make any booking for hospital services. The reason why there is no vacancy is that those services or rooms are fully booked and occupied by mainlanders. Most of the chinese believe the medical services offered in Hong Kong are in better quality than that in China. They all prefer to come to those hospitals in Hong Kong, despite higher costs.

In summary, it is unavoidable to have some negative impacts from mainlanders to Hong Kong. The government should tighten the immigration policy or increase the taxes for these non-citizens who make purchase in Hong Kong in order to tackle the problems.