Is punishment necessary to help children learn distinction what's right or wrong?

The question:from the IELTS 10 TEST1,writing task 2

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Should we punish children? What's your reason?

Answer:

It is significant for early age children to distinguish right and wrong.As the description above, it said punishment is essential to help children learn the contrast between right and wrong.

I agree with this opinion.People should punish kids when necessary.There are three reasons to support this view.First, children might make mistakes next time without punishment.The reason to impose a punishment is to warn the children not just to punish.If adults don't punish them, the children won't learn a lesson from this experience. Second,with my experience that I suspected in junior high schools.If students don't get any punishment,they will interrupt others in the class.It will unable teachers to teach other students.Third,sometimes children don't own correct perspectives, therefore, punishment is set to get rid of their wrong behavior or thoughts.

From my perspective, the physical punishment is not allowed to give to children,because it will hurt their body and mental state.With my experience, parents and teachers need to let children understand the exact reason why they are banished.Hence,I side with the punishment which can deprive of their freedom or rights temporarily.Such as being grounded,a timeout.By means of these punishment,children can respect themselves also follow the rules.In conclusion,I am in favour of appropriate punishments instead of complete punishment.