Reason for learning a foreign language

who needs English, Chinese or Russian language?

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Which point of view do you agree with?

Learning a foreign language is becoming a trend worldwide.An increasing number of people suppose that people only learn foreign languages to work abroad and visit a foreign country.Others,however,argue that there are several other reasons explaining for this trend.In my opinion,i strongly agree with the later view.

First and foremost,people learn foreign languages to satisfy their interest in linguistics.As we see,many people are passionate about languages.Therefore,they learn foreign languages as a way to pursue their passion.My father's case is a specific example.He has a great enthusiasm about languages and he has been learning four foreign languages.

In addition,people learn foreign languages to broaden their knowledge.Learning foreign languages gives them opportunities to expose to different cultures,histories and traditions of other nations.As a result,they will gain useful information.For instance,when learning English,i can get knowledge about many things involving England such as English lifestyles or customs.

I admit that many people learn foreign languages with a view to travel or work in foreign countries.However,it is only one reason among lots of reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

In conclusion,i believe that people learn foreign languages not only for traveling and working abroad but also for a lot of other reasons.People should take advantage of languages which they have learned to do other things rather than traveling and working.