IELTS: who should responsible for elderly?

[b]this is the topic question: Some people think that the government should offer financial support and care to the elderly, while others think that people should save money for their future life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

Nowadays taking care of elders has become a discussional topic among the whole society. Some people believe that government should be responsible for looking after senior citizens and providing them monetary supports, while others think that individual save money for the future. My view is that these two ideas do not contradict with each other.

The government should pay attention to take care of elders because senior citizens have contributed enough to the society when they were young. The government should spare no effort to improve the living condition after elders retire. To be more specific, the government could establish free nursing home, by doing so, professional staff and equipped facilities could deal with physical condition of the grey generation. Furthermore, if the elderly stay with peers, it may reduce the possibility of being loneliness.

Conversely, individuals should be responsible for saving sufficient money for their future life. This is mainly because the government has limited budget for other purposes. It is unrealistic for the elderly to totally rely on the government's pension which can only cover basic living expense, and then live in an enjoyable life. If senior citizens wish to have a decent twilight years, they must prepare a plan at early stage.

Moreover, family should also be obligated to take care of the elderly. The elderly should be encouraged to live with family, by doing so, it can enhance family intimacy. As a result, they can get rid of loneliness by spending great time with their offspring.

In conclusion, the government should definitely provide financial aid to senior citizens. Meanwhile, individuals should also save up for their retirement. But more importantly, looking after the old is the responsibility of every member of our society.