Revolutionary / communication is better than other types of communication

With the development of modern technology, communication efficiency improves by means of new inventions, such as telephone calls, e-mails and conventional letters. However, I still assert that face-to face communication is superior than other means.

Admittedly, revolutions in communication have a great help and shorten people's distance. For example, the modern logistics enable us to delivery letters or documents globally within a day or two. E-mails improve the efficiency of international cooperation between companies. And telephone calls connect people in remote distance. All the means make people's life easier than before and have positive influence in people's communication.

However, face-to-face communication is equally or more in important in daily life since better communication require mutual feedback through gestures, facial expression, and so forth. For example, it is hard to image that students don't need to go to school and study at home via phoning to teachers in future. In teaching situation, experienced teachers need to sense if their pupils understand the new knowledge via eye contacting, students' feedback to academic questions and so forth. Without watching students' response, it is difficult for teachers to monitor how well the pupils accept the new knowledge and it would cause delay to teaching method modification.

In addition, sometimes, digital or text communication would result in information delay. Propose a situation that an analyst works in Hong Kong and he has an urgent case to report to his boss, who is in a business travel to the US. Due to the time zoning difference, the analyst chooses to describe the case via email, but unfortunately, the employer's mailbox is full so that the urgent email can not be reviewed. Although emails help to realize the across-region co-work, it is inferior to face-to-face communication in the efficiency standpoint. What's more, although some large logistic companies can offer overnight letter service to public, delivery delay is common since sometimes courier is not able to recognize the vague address or the inaccurate zip code information. So face-to-face communication is less possible to result in time consuming.

In conclusion, although revolutionary communication means assist people in work and bring more entertainment in life, I still approve that face-to-face communication is the best way to express oneself explicitly and efficiently since facial expression, eye contacting, and gesture are equally important part in an efficient communication, and face-to-face communication is not time-consuming as other methods.