Schools should encourage instead of forcing student to learn a foreign language

foreign language study at schools

There is common belief that forcing students to study a foreign language should not take place in schools. Although there are many advantages of learning a new language, I believe that children should not be forced to learn a foreign language.

There are two main reason why studying another language have enormous benefits. The first reason is that children can overcome the barrier of language when they study something or they plan to become an oversea student. For example, when children prepare a lesson prior to class, they have to cover a lot of grounds which are usually written by English. Therefore, students who have good English will gain advantages. Furthermore, if children manage to good one foreign language, they will gain a competitive edge in job market in the future. For instance, these days, employers usually require candidates to fluently use a foreign language such as English or Mandarin.

Despite of these advantages I expressed above, I believe that students should not be forced to learn a foreign language at school. The best way to teach language is that teachers should encourage student to learn language. Teachers should tailor their teaching styles in order to the transmission of knowledge be more lively and effective for example, playing videos or organizing game relate to a foreign language. In addition, schools should make students to understand the important of language in their future life, which will give children motivation to study by themselves. For instance, schools should provide students with workshops relating to the important of language in their career, which will help student to see a big picture of the advantages of studying a foreign language.

In conclusion, although learning a new language have significant advantages, I strongly believe that schools should encourage instead of forcing student to learn a foreign language.