IELTS; Schools should provide practical knowledge and skills to students

Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of our schools today have curriculum that teaches normally academic subjects to the children rather than practical skills. It is disagreed that these kids should not be trained with skills such as car maintenance or bank account management in schools. Analyzing the importance of subjects traditionally taught in school as compared to practical skills and timetables are already full with academic subjects will be discussed.

Firstly, subjects such as Science, Math, English, History and Social Studies are considered to be a vital knowledge to equip the children in today's competitive world. For instance, when these children would be finding jobs, huge corporations, generally, have assessment tests that require problem solving skills, language ability and a wide range of knowledge globally. Unfortunately, skills such as learning how to fix a car or being able to manage your finances are rarely required. Thus this makes it clear that lessons in academic subjects should still be the main priority in schools today.

Secondly, there are already a lot of academic subjects mandatory for these children to learn in school, hence, squeezing in practical subjects may becoming too exhausting for the kids. For example, children would feel drained when being compelled to become skilled at fixing a car after a lengthy Math test. In addition, learning how to manage one's finances is something that people eventual learn along as they go through life and most individuals are excellent in doing so without being taught in schools. Thus it becomes quite evident that practical skills will not be qualified to becoming a subject in schools today.

In conclusion, it is imperative to note that academic subjects are more essential for the children of today to be equipped in economical world and integrating practical skills in schools will be inconvenient for the children as a result of their hectic schedule.