TOEFL - Scientist are responsible for the negative impacts of their discoveries.

There has been an argument regarding the issue that scientists are in charge of negative consequences of their discoveries. Some people say that they do not have to be responsible for their discoveries, since these discoveries has brought more advantages than disadvantages. However, from my perspective, I believe that scientists should take responsibility for their action and findings. In this essay, I will present two reasons to support my idea.

First of all, scientists can predict how their discoveries would impact on the society. In general, they are the one who had thought about its aftermath before they proclaimed their discoveries. In addition, they are experts in the field of area, they should have known its benefits and drawbacks. For example, Alberts Eistein, the most preeminent physician who contribute to create atomic bombs led millions of people to suffer and die from its severe nuclear radiation. Furthermore, atomic bombs has been used as a big threat to mankind and still many people are afraid of its use. People would not worry about nuclear bomb if Einstein was considerate about creating atomic bombs. Although he is considered as a contributor ending the second World War earlier, he should be responsible for his invention.

Second of all, scientist are the only one who can prevent social problems in the future. They should make correct decisions based on morality. Generally speaking, scientists should deeply deem about its use. Advanced technology should be used for positive and correct form. However, it can be used wrongly as well. For instance, Google recently announced that they made Google Glass which is innovative device that would improve people's life. However, its invention is on the brink of privacy issue. one of its features is that users can record everything what they see within their sight. This might sound interesting, but can be used for bad purposes such as recording people's appearance and this invade one's privacy. once it is prevalent among people, it would cause a lot of problems further. Therefore, the scientists should be moral and aware of their invention.

In conclusion, scientist must be considerate about their discoveries. They know consequence how their findings will change the world and are responsible for further problems in the future.