The scientists should be responsible but also appreciated by the prominence of their discoveries

Do you agree or disagree: Scientists should be responsible for negative impacts of their discoveries

In this age, with the advent of technology, many new discoveries have been made and new advancements in different scientific fields have emerged. However, like many social, political and cultural matters, science has its own benefits and drawbacks. Thus, scientists should be appreciated by the prominence of their discoveries; and on the other hand, should be responsible for the negative repercussions of their inventions and scientific researches. My perspective toward this issue is that scientists should be particularly cognizant of the potentially harmful implications of their discoveries, as they might lead to many problems including: detrimental diseases and mass destructive weapons

Many unknown diseases have become widely spread out, because of the ignorance of a scientist doing research on a dangerous fields. To illustrate, there is always a possibility that an unknown and primitive virus can infect a laboratory mouse. This virus can be transmitted easily to human through the contact between mouse and human skin. Certainly, the virus can kill a dozen people with one shot, and therefore, the scientist is responsible for murder and should be held responsible.Specifically, biologists who are conducting researches on the field of biology might find a novel way to produce, for example, a specific enzyme to catalyze a metabolites process. However, if this enzyme is injected to human veins, might cause several tremendous side effects. Therefore, the biologists should take responsibility, warn the public of those side effects and find ways to prevent or reduce the severe influences of such discoveries.

Human lives are always in danger of mass destructive weapons, many of which have been invented by irresponsible physicists. All complex weapons, missiles and guns are once had peaceful purposes, but later they have brought many destruction and damages to human life on earth. For instance, at first nuclear atoms and enriched Uranium have been exploited for peaceful goals, but later they have been used for other perilous intentions, including invention of atomic bombs. Atomic bombs were used in World War II and resulted in many destruction in Japan. However, if an individual who has discovered nuclear atoms thought about the devastating consequences of his invention, he could take some effective steps to prevent this discovery to become a huge killer weapon.

All things considered, scientists should be aware and responsible of the different implications that they discoveries bring to people's lives. Such implications could be as harmful as unknown viruses or be as destructive as mass weapons.