Second language learning at primary school. Both positive and negative aspects.

Topic:

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Early familiarisation with foreign language at school

Essay:

Given the critical economic globalization, foreign language education is a hot topic for severe debates in many countries. Some specialists consider primary school the best place to start teaching foreign language; however, some others believe that secondary school is much better. Such methods have been applied in many countries and revealed both negative and positive impacts.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that, in terms of physical development, students at primary school are the most suitable for learning language. As you know, the children from 6 to 8 age are in the 0process to develop organs related to pronounce like tongue; therefore, at this time, they are much easier to adopt different pronunciation than adolescents. Besides, learning foreign language is in relevant to not only vocabulary or grammar but also the mindset of a different culture, so little children, without deep self-consciousness, is the best to absorb a new language.

On the other hand, learning foreign language at primary school brings considerable drawbacks. Firstly, teaching foreign language as a compulsory subject, to a certain extent, could put pressure on children, who should spend more time on outside activities rather than at school. Secondly, most students at primary school tend to not aware of self-study, so without daily language environment, the language education at this group is much less effective than the student at secondary school.

Based on the above advantages and disadvantages, personally, I think foreign language education should focus on students at secondary school rather than primary school.