Sharing scientific / business / academic information - pros and cons - ielts

sharing materials, data with others

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

(Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.)

Thanks to technological advances, it is easier and more convenient to share information with others; however, the relevant issue whether information in different aspects should be shared is brought up. Some people think that sharing data has a positive effect on scientific research, business and academic world, while others believe that such information ought not to spread freely due to their high value. There are some points in both sides. (70)

Due to tons of free sharing information, the progress in various fields could be quick, and the money or time spent on getting the resources could be significantly reduce as well. Obviously, people may be more willing to learn if they don't have to pay to acquire the knowledge. And students who can find free tutorials on the Internet may learn faster. Furthermore, people can discuss these public messages and update or make a great improvement to them.

On the other hand, it may have impact on copyright or the spread of incorrect messages. For example, if someone who bought a book talking about the tips of invention found it's interesting and post the whole content on his/her blog without getting the author's permission first, and thus others can read this book for free, which may lead to a declination on its circulation. In fact, there are plenty of instances about the illegal spread of the knowledgeable information nowadays, and it may undermine the intellectual property. In addition, many people would share some wrong ideas which would mislead others.

In conclusion, both views have its pros and cons, therefore not only should people care about the content of the sharing materials but they also need to take its source and credibility into consideration.