Spending large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities

In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Transport fundings allocation

Many continents citizens believe that major transport fundings should be used for building new railway lines connecting cities for quick travel. However, others are of the mindset that money ought to be utilized for developing existing transport service for people. In my opinion, it should be based on the needs of the cities and its habitats.

Constructing new train lines will reduce travel time for long distance travelers considerably. For instance, people driving from one town to other daily for better job opportunity waste valuable time traveling that could be spent with their loved one. This will have a direct effect on pollution and traffic problems in a positive way, as trains can carry multiple passengers in one go there will be fewer cars on the road emitting carbon-dioxide into our atmosphere.

On the other hand, for short distance traveler, traffic congestion and road maintenance are of high priorities. These do not use trains daily. Increase population and number of cars on roads has led to heavy traffic and damaged roads. Widening roads, adding lanes and maintaining roads will aid in traffic flow and improve travel time for these short distance drivers. Thus spending money on advancing present public transportation is deemed necessary for these group of people.

In conclusion, I strongly propose to consider the expenditure of the transport service based on the requirement of the people. If there is more inter-city traveler train must be given Importance or vice-versa.