Essay about - Is spending a lot on parties is worthwhile or not?

Topic: Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebration parties is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the improvement of people's living standards, people tend to have more disposable income to celebrate some happy events such as wedding day and birthday by holding parties. Nevertheless, others assume this phenomenon has nothing productive but a waste of money. In this essay, both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, celebration parties (wedding parties, birthdays, etc.) can present sufficient benefits to individuals and society as a whole. From purely social point of view, the main purpose of inviting relatives and friends to a party is to share hosts' joyful feeling and emotions as well as strengthen the bonds between hosts and guests. Without the opportunities of holding or participating parties, an individual would feel isolated from his or her social network, which probably result in suffering from emotional problems. In addition, the society can benefit a lot from holding parties in terms of boosting economy and generating numerous jobs. For example, a great number of companies in business aim to provide party food and services including catering and function rooms rent. Therefore, by holding parties, this party industry will expand and recruit more staff members in order to meet the demands.

However, those who disagree with the necessity of spending a lot on parties believe that this phenomenon may exert negative impacts on hosts in terms of their financial situation. Undoubtedly, to hold a party, especially celebrating an important event, costs hosts a huge amount of money on food, drinks and so on, which may impose financial burdens on them. What is more disturbing is that hosts spend all the money or even borrow some just in order to have a better party when comparing with others due to human nature.

To sum up, holding parties is supported in terms of family and friends bonds as well as promoting economic development. In contrast, it is refuted to be a waste of money due to huge financial burdens on hosts. Nonetheless, as far as I am concerned, it is necessary to celebrate happy events by holding parties, and hosts have to make a reasonable budget according to their financial situation.