IELTS WT2: spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Almost everyone can use their voice to interact with people surrounding them, so some find verbal communication useful and easy to use. However, it would be unwise for people to completely ignore learning how to utilize written communication .In my opinion, this notion that verbal communication is more potent than non-verbal is fully unjustified.

Admittedly, using spoken language is the easiest and most universal way in terms of exchanging information. This is especially true in face to face conversations, which stem from people's instincts for imitating words and intonations since we were infants. Thus, spoken words go a long way towards helping people express their thoughts as well as genuine emotions effectively in formal situations.

By contrast, although we mostly interact directly with others, it is impossible to sideline the importance of written communication due to the formality and validity which are characteristic of formal letters, notes on paper, or filling in forms. There will be incidents when we need to write down some pronouncements such as police records or medical notes, which require written words to act as evidence in court or part of formal procedures later on . In addition, it is imperative that we use written language in examinations which are still mostly handwritten because it is a rigorous method to evaluate and assess one's level of education. Last but not least , using non-verbal language is an integral part of conserving our cultures and values for future generations. This is evidenced by the fact that there are some manuscripts of the bible which had been written on the leather 2000 years ago and were found intact.

In conclusion, I am against the viewpoint that people should attach greater significance to verbal forms of communication than to written ones. I feel that writing skills are essential both for practical reasons such as preservation efforts and to show the formality and legislation in pronouncing important announcements as well as assess exactly the level of learning knowledge of students. In other words, it is unlikely that either spoken communication, or written language can replace one another.