Sporting Events: Outlet for a patriotic feeling or the way to reduce the tension?

IELTS (writing task 2): International sporting events such as Olympic Games and the Football World Cup provide an outlet for patriotic feelings, and help to reduce international tensions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Every four year people of the globe stop to watch Olympic Games OR World Football Cup; the question whether such events are the opportunity for a person to be proud of his country and the way to keep peace in the world will be discussed below.

No one would deny that amongst games the Olympic ones are the most popular. For this amazing celebration nearly every country sends its promising athlets, so that they make their nationS feel pride from them by demonstrating their bests. In fact, in ancient times the Romans and THE Greeks canceled their battles over a land just in order to participate in sporting competitions. Therefore, it is obvious that these events were to ease the tension between the nations, at least temporarily. To my mind, I think THE Olympic Games involved concurrence within participants and created leaders, which was the challenge for losers to pay attention to trainings, rather than to conquests.

I have an impression that there is no boy, who neither enjoys playing football, nor watches it, especially IF his is a Brazilian offspring. As to the statistics, the crime, the child mortality and the drug selling rateS are high in Brazil, whereas living standards and employment are considerably low. Consequently, they find it embarrassing to be a Brazilian. During the World Football Cup, however, they are to experience absolutely opposite feelings, because the Brazilian football team is supposed to be the best in the world. People wear shirts of their team, sing traditional songs in the streets and, even, buy national flags. Miraculously, even rival gangs come together TO ONE PLACE to watch a match of their favorite team.

In conclusion, sporting games transform the way countries compete with each other. By getting Into sport, they tend to forget about the wars, which is at the same time leads the world to live peacefully. Moreover, it is the opportunity to show the country's best features, making its nation to be proud of their country