IELTS TASK 2: go straight to university or take a year off traveling

Thank you for your attention.

In some countries young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Essay:

Many adolescents are in two minds of whether they should take one year off after leaving schools before going to university. If I had had to make such a decision, perhaps I would have chosen to spend a year working or traveling on account of two following causes.

Firstly, young people would learn more about the world while they were working or traveling, which they might never be taught in both high schools and colleges. In fact, they must continually discipline themselves and make the best of every opportunity to develop their own life skills so as to adjust to a completely new environment. Thanks to such hard work, adolescents are going to become more and more self-assured, which is extremely useful not only for their university studies but also for their career later.

Secondly, no one can deny that people at the age of around 18 might not be mature enough to determine into which occupation they are. As a result, having a year off in order to meet a large variety of people and observe a wide range of real jobs is likely to contribute to shaping their own future career. It is true that universities have seen several cases in which their students either was not properly interested in studying or accepted to abandon one or two years in college just because of wrong decisions at the beginning.

In brief, I support the idea of taking one year off based on its two advantages including learning a lot of real knowledge and skills as well as clarifying their desirable job in the future.