Some students don't enroll in science majors - why?

Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Despite the fact that science has made great strides in the past few decades, students all over the world are starting to be favored more in computer-based subjects instead. In my perception, this problem stems from various reasons, and it is more serious than most people think because it is detrimental to society.

In general, it is undeniable that technology plays a vital role in our lives. However, there are several compelling reasons why I argue that it has demerits for our society. First and foremost, if students enroll in these courses, they won't have any R&D activities. Specifically, most factories focus solely on assembly and production. Therefore, industrial occupations cannot become innovative, which leads employees to be underpaid. Following that, the public won't have a clear understanding of science. If people do not appreciate science, there will be an ignorant and distrustful society. According to the study, teens in America were more likely to fall for conspiracy theories, like the flat-earth or the anti-vaccine movements.

In addition, this problem stems from different reasons. Primarily, studying science subjects will narrow your future career path. Based on current salaries, states and companies do not pay enough for scientists, and lab technicians. This problem will affect students ' motivation. Also, the way universities teach science is too boring and rusting. For example, teachers always focus too much on math and complex problems that do not have many applications, little interactivity in class, outdated information, and labs, which is why enrollment in science majors is dropping.

To conclude, it is reasonable to understand why many students choose not to enroll in science majors at higher-education levels. However, the lack of science in society might be attributed to rising underdeveloped countries and people's lack of knowledge.