Students should know the science of food? IELTS TASK 2 - Discuss opinion

Topic:

Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it.

Others think students should spend time on more important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that people believe students should know the science of food and the way to prepare it, while others hold the conflicting view that students should focus on vital subjects. In my opinion, food science and preparation are necessary knowledge students should be taught in schools.

On the one hand, students study many subjects in school that is essential to academic knowledge and lifestyle. Firstly, it is impossible to put more subjects in students' timetable because there is a lot of crucial subjects which student must study every day. If students have to study lots of time, they can be under a lot of stress and be less energetic because of cutting off their spare time. Secondly, some difficult subjects required students to spend more time studying. For example, subjects in the aspect of Natural Science are complicated to study within a short period and they provide fundamental knowledge of engineering careers.

On the other hand, I believe that science of food and diet should be considered as important as other subjects in school. First of all, knowledge of food science can help students build up their immune systems and remove fast food from their diet. Another reason is food preparation is one of the survival skills that must be armed by students. For instance, if students know cooking skills, they can easily prepare healthy homemade food by themselves rather than consuming junk food in each meal.

In conclusion, although the school timetable is crowded, I agree with the opinion that students should spend time studying food science and preparation.