Should students use smartphones at school ?

smartphones and education

In today's world, the use of smartphones is widespread by myriads of people of different ages. It is thought that students ought to be authorized to use mobile phones at school. I believe although using phones has several adverse impacts, its benefits are undeniable.

On the one hand, using smartphones in class is associated with numerous advantages. Firstly, it helps communication goes on. If students have phones, the mobility and flexibility between them and their parents will grow. As a matter of fact, under any circumstances, students could call for help without confronting the predicaments alone. Secondly, smartphones suit student's educational purposes. In particular, it enables learners to access a wealth of knowledge to search for necessary information. As we are living in a technology boom century, electronics are moving into our lives and we could not do anything but adapt to it. So using technology is fundamental skill students have to hone.

On the other hand, its disadvantages cannot be denied. To begin with, smartphones could distract students from studying, and they don't concentrate on the lessons anymore. As a result, their academic performances will decrease and students would have underachievements. Another factor is that smartphones can be used to cheat on tests. Students can search or text friends to get the right answers. Besides, the lack of face to face communication due to the excessive use of mobile phones can worsen certain relationships. This is a severe problem that may affect students' psychology when they're adults. Nevertheless, the amount of time one spends on phones is contingent on himself or herself. So teachers should guide students to manage their time-consuming phones properly.

In conclusion, smartphones bring both advantages and disadvantages to users. I believe that students should use them wisely to take full benefits instead of becoming addicted to them.