"Studying English in an English-Speaking Country" - IELTS Writing

"Studying English in an English-Speaking country is the best way to learn the language. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?"

-Nowadays, learning english as a second language is so common that there have been introduced various ways of studying it to maximise its effectiveness. Among them is literally visiting an English-Speaking country to study and is found quite recommended. However, while so many people discovered it effective, there are also many disadvantages which are likely to pull down the effectiveness.

First of all, when learning a foreign language, it is widely known that it is best to speak in that language as much as possible. However, often it is not easy to speak or try to speak the foreign language if one is in his or her home country because for him/her, it is the most convenient to speak in their own language and human is born to adapt to its most convenient possible living. As a consequence, if you happen to learn English as a second language, it is advisable to move to English Speaking country and speak English all the time.

Despite that, learning English in an English speaking country has a big disadvantage which is the negligence of theoretical learning, often the rules behind the grammar. International students who have left their home country intentionally to learn better english, have been found that although they speak better english, their theoretical knowledge was not as good as students in their home country, according to a recent survey. Also in some extreme circumstance, the level of English of the students has become so vague that they are found to be proficient with English only in the situations they are used to. In short, studying English in an English-Speaking country may trigger the learning at practical knowledge only, neglecting the theory.

To recapitulate, while there are both an advantage and a disadvantage, in regard to the fact that it is very costly to studying abroad, it seems it is worth more just to stay in one's home country. However, inasmuch as study depends almost entirely to the person's capability as to its result, nothing can be certainly concluded.