Sugar-based drinks are more popular in many countries. What is it caused by?

People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons?

It is true that sugar-based drinks are more popular in many countries. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that it will have some solutions to make people drink less.

There are several reasons why sugary drink consumption is on the rise. Firstly, people are exposed to more advertising for sugary drinks than in the past. Celebrities appear in advertisements to encourage people, especially youngsters to buy these beverages. For example, Coca-Cola, a famous soft drink company in the world, has sponsored the Olympics and many football matches, since then the image of athletes and players drinking Coca-Cola has made consumers love this brand. Another reason why sugar-sweetened drinks are so successful is that people cannot resist the temptation of attractive taste. Sugar-based drinks contain addictive properties such as caffeine, etc. Therefore, it will give drinkers an instant energy boost and maintain the high concentration necessary for their work. Finally, people rely more on this kind of beverage, while it has no nutritious value and harms the body in reality.

I believe that this problem can be solved by several measures. Governments should limit advertisements about sugary drinks on TV and other platforms. Besides, the media should promote healthier beverages. For instance, low-calorie or diet beverages should be promoted and accompanied by healthy dietary guidelines and lifestyles. In addition, the government should take a tougher measure, which is a higher tax on sugary beverages. Hence, people will think twice before making a purchase decision.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are related to sugar-sweetened drinks. Then, everyone's health and life will be improved.