Article summary: Once Sleepy Singapore Has Become Asia's World City-While Hong Kong Is Lagging

Hong Kong and Singapore were considered as the greatest hub of free economy in South and South East Asia and two prominent market in the region according to Asian Journal. Over the past 40 years saw number of changes between the two cities, which according to the writer as a result of the political change.

Between 1980s and 1990s Hong Kong was stand among world's best cities for trade, for some reasons. For instance, tax rates is below the average and limited regulation, and their proximity to the rise of China. In the past few years, after Hong Kong resumed to be governed by China since about two decades ago, they became less attractive. In addition, political instability arose around the city with the massive protests in 2014 called "Umbrella Revolution and the Occupy Central Movement.

However, Singapore appeared to be less oppressive under current regime, governed by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong. Local press in Singapore is also slightly stronger than decades ago. In the business field, the country was stand out in number of rating agencies such as rank as second place on 'least miserably country' by Bloomberg and referred to world's most liveable city for foreign workers in Asia according to ECA International's version. All in all, these could be the advantages of Singapore over Hong Kong when it comes to appealing place for live and work.