Taking a gap of one year after completing high school and before taking admission

the advantages and disadvantages of a gap year

Topic: It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, it is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Although some disadvantages can be seen from the phenomenon, the advantages are more significant.

Having a year off between high school and university presents several drawbacks. First, the knowledge can be forgot after one year without recall. Many students who come back university after one year off have some difficulties with the old knowledge in high school and the new knowledge in the university. They take more time than the students who go straight to university after high school in the beginning for pursuing university education. Second, the opportunities to get a job may be lost. The students who continue academic education after finishing high school will finish tertiary education earlier than the students who have a year off and they can get a permanent job with a stable incomes.

However, those disadvantages above still cannot overshadow the advantages. First, a gap year before attending college will be a good time to save money for studying if you have difficulties with the university fees, or if you want to become an independent person, or if you want to share with your parents apart tuition. You can get a full time job or temporary job to work for saving money. Second, there are many good social skills that you can learn from this year. With a volunteer work, you will have a good chance to experience new experiences outside school and family environment to learn the skills. Third, one year off is a perfect moment to orient your future. Many people when finish high school, they do not know exactly what they desire for their lives, what major they will pursue. They just make a decision because that is the choice of their parents or their friends. One year off after finish high school likes a pause moment to see, to discern, to make a good orientation and to live.

In conclusion, despite there are some disadvantages in term of knowledge and chance to get a job in university environment, the advantages are more worthy to consider. With the social experiences and a good orientation beside comfort about tuition will be a good preparation to build the future.