IELTS - taking a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience

Prompt: Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Most students tend to go straight for university right after their graduation. However, there has been a popular trend to take a year off before attending college among youngsters. From my perspective, having a year off to take journeys, or to pick up some more knowledge is totally beneficial for future students.

Firstly, it is immensely helpful to take a gap year before becoming a university students emotionally. For example, imminent students can utilize their free time to make journeys, or to have fun in vacations. And I believe that having some time to relax, and to settle down mentally is absolutely reasonable because in order to graduate high school, students have spent loads of their time to study, and to overcome the tests, so it is nice if they can have fun for a while.

Secondly, youngsters can also gain new real-life experiences which may be useful for academic purposes could not found in schools. For instance, many gap-year takers have their first jobs or part-time jobs which related to chosen majors in college. Therefore, those can obtain experiences, and save money for their tuition fees spontaneously. Therefore, having some time off instead of jumping right into studying after finishing high school is quite good for students' university life.

In summary, a gap year can be really necessary and crutial for a certain amount of students who have just finished taking the entrance examination. Because 12 months free are enough for students to prepare themselves mentally and emotionally before heading to campuses. So if it is possible and in need, feel free to take a gap year.