Is taking part in team sports the best way to educate children about cooperation in life?

The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

As educating children about cooperation in life is a major concern of many people, there is a debate about whether taking part in team sports at school is the best way to do so. I completely disagree with this point of view because the limit effect I has on some children and some inappropriate behaviors may occurs.

Firstly, participating in a specific sport requires both interest and capability of children. It can be seen easily that children who are not interested in sports or physically disabled cannot play sports with their friends. For example, basketball is not a good option for children who have difficulty walking, whereas other activities such as joining in a music band or an art club may be a better choice for them.

In addition, playing sports sometimes can cause many circumstances which will break solidarity between participants. For instance, football, the most popular team sport in Viet Nam, attracts many children. Even though it can be used to teach children to join hands with the others to win a game, it sometimes causes a problem, where children with an advanced skill look down on amateurs, not only by criticizing words but also physical abuse.

In conclusion, teaching cooperation to children through team sports may apply for some, but it is not the best approach because of the drawbacks that I mentioned above.