IELTS Writing Taks 2: Having same opinion as friends

Topic:

Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that it is important to have a healthy friendship, thereby the choice of friends is from a high significance. Although some people believe that it is better to choose friends who have the same opinion on everything like them, I would argue that it is better to have friends who sometimes have a different way of thinking. This essay will look at both arguments and conclude that various opinions would have more positives on friendship.

On the one hand, those who believe that we should always have the same opinion as our companions might argue that thereby we would rarely have arguments with them. The reason for this is that there is no opposite way of thinking, and this would lead to an agreement upon everything. This is beneficial for the duration of the friendship and the possibility of having the same goals and working on them together.

However, I believe there are more advantages of having the opposite opinion sometimes. This could lead to a more dynamic and less boring friendship. If we always agree with our friends, our friendship could become monotonous and uninteresting. Beyond that, you can always learn something from the opposite way of thinking and develop your opinion by hearing different approaches. This is because a variety of angles of view can open new doors of knowledge.

In conclusion, despite the positives that come with the continuous agreement in friendship, it is my firm belief that having sometimes different opinions leads to overall healthier friendships and broaden our horizons.