TOEFL: Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

TOEFL preparation:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the cornerstone of the educational process, and they have a significant influence on their students. Some teachers think that it is appropriate to share their social or political views to students in the classroom. However, In my opinion, it is not recommended for that to happen. I feel this way for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, teachers are a role model to students. Therefore, students are constantly vulnerable to teachers point of view. In fact, students are more curious about things outside books, so they can put all their attention to focus on what teachers say. I found this is to be true in my own life when I was in the high school. In the last Egyptian president's election, there was a debate about whose we had to choose! I inclined to choose Mobarek because I thought he is the best fit. However, my teacher started to talk about his political point of view and why we had to elect someone else. Unfortunately, I changed my choice and picked someone else. Later on, I realized that he was corrupted. This example illustrates that teachers influence their students.

Second, a different opinion can lead to problems and sometimes to fight. It looks like weird, but in reality, that can happen. Adam's, my friend, had an experience which is a compelling example of this. Three years ago, his teacher asked him to write an essay about the achievement of the Egyptian's president at that time. The teacher was a big fan of the president, but Adam was not. Consequently, Adam refused to write that essay and said bad words about the president. The teacher tried to stop Adam, but the situation ended in fights. Thus, it is wiser for teachers to avoid talking about any political issues in front of students.

Finally, some social behavior is not appropriate to be mentioned to young people. For example, if a teacher is a smoker and talked about that in the classroom, students will be influenced and can do the same. According to a study carried out by the educational department at Cairo University, 70% of students were more affected by their teacher's behavior than their parents. This study concludes that each teacher should take care of their action in front of students. Therefore, it is prudent to avoid talking about any social views inside schools.

To sum up, I strongly believe that teachers are required not to make their social or political views known to students in the class. The reason for that is to avoid misleading students, problems from happening, and bad behavior influence. Accordingly, when teachers follow this, we can expect an amazing education.

* I am not sure how to answer like these questions, do I need to choose only one, social or political, or I have to talk baout both?