Technologies have developed very fast in the past 100 years. Advantages or disadvantages?

merits and demerits of technological progress

Technologies have evolved at a lightning speed over the past ten decades. While some people hold the view that technological development poses several drawbacks to humans, I contend that it also brings numerous benefits.

On the one hand, some disadvantages of technology can be taken into account. Firstly, it makes the world become more contaminated. In some megacities such as Ha Noi or Ho Chi Minh, for example, the large use of cars and motorbikes often produces air pollutants including carbon dioxide. This may lead to environmental degradation and pose a threat to many creatures especially humans. Secondly, advances in technology mean that many jobs like hunting, fishing, and agriculture have fallen by the wayside. These jobs now are more prone to be replaced by machines and robots, resulting in an increasing unemployment rate, as a result, more and more people fail to keep up with the high rising costs.

On the other hand, one of the most obvious advantages of high technology is that there is no barrier in distance. It is true that the invention of trains and planes makes it possible to travel a long distance in a short time. For instance, 100 years ago, it would take a few days or even a week if people wanted to travel from the North to the South of Viet Nam. However, nowadays, it takes only two hours by plane. In addition, appliances such as digital cameras, video players, and computers enrich people's leisure time. To illustrate, people now have easy access to the Internet and therefore they can watch some trending videos on Youtube with only a few clicks of the mouse. This brings them a sense of satisfaction when it comes to activities in their spare time.

In conclusion, although technological progress may have some demerits to citizens, I believe that it also plays a crucial role in their life.