IELTS WRITING TASK 2: what do you think - are entertainers worth their fortune?

Some people feel that entertainers (e.g. film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Nowadays, it is believed that top athletes, actors and performers can easily earn their multi-million-dollar pay cheques in a short time. Although many people say that stars in the entertainment business are far much over paid than they deserve, I believe they are entitled to the huge salaries.

Firstly, not every entertainer can get such high salaries. When we focus on and envy celebrities their wealth and fame, we are blind to those who fail to achieve distinction and still struggle for their life. However, even for these who have already reached the very top of their profession, their outstanding achievements do not come out of nowhere. In fact, many of them are not only very talented but also incredibly diligent. Only after years of hard work - during which they undertook extreme training, strived for excellence and endured great amount of pressure in life and intense competitions - do they bring out the best sport and amazing performances for audiences. It is unfair that simply crediting their success to merely "luck" and completely ignoring the enormous efforts they put and the sacrifices they make. Furthermore, the majority of stars do not hold their leading positions for long. They could suddenly come into vogue but fade away soon after, eventually replaced by the next younger, more creative and energetic generation. So, this relatively short working life and their dedication to work seems quite justification to me for the high pay.

But let's not forget that childcare workers, teachers, nurses and plenty of other workers. They also bring skills and strong work ethics to their respective fields, and more importantly, they contribute to the public good. Unfortunately, their modest incomes generally don't reflect that.

In conclusion, I think entertainers are worth their fortune and meanwhile we can also support those workers in lower-paid professions when they ask for higher wages or better conditions. The free market will never be fair, but if we stop associating money with 'worth', maybe the workers who make society better will receive a bit more of the respect they deserve.